Visa: Diversity Visa Program – DV-2021

Diversity Visa (DV) – 2021 opens for entries beginning noon Eastern Daylight Time (EDT) on Wednesday, October 2, 2019, and will close for entries at noon Eastern Standard Time (EDT) on November 5, 2019 (GMT-4).

For detailed instructions for DV-2021, please see the State Department’s website at  https://travel.state.gov/content/visas/en/immigrate/diversity-visa/instructions.html

The congressionally mandated Diversity Immigrant Visa Program (DV) makes available up to 50,000 diversity visas each year, drawn from random selection among all entries to persons who meet strict eligibility requirements from countries with low rates of immigration to the United States. For Fiscal Year 2021, 50,000 DVs will be available. There is no cost to register for the DV program.

To apply for a diversity visa, applicants just need to follow the steps on the Diversity Visa Process on travel.state.gov.  Once you have completed those steps, review the instructions given to you by the Kentucky Consular Center (KCC), along with the information presented on this website, for further guidance and instructions.

Applicants can access the electronic DV entry form (E-DV) at the official E-DV website during the registration period.  DV instructions are also available on the Department of State’s public webpage.  DV entries are only accepted through the E-DV site. All entrants must print and retain their online confirmation page after completing their DV entries so that they will be able to check their entry status as explained below. You do not need to use an agent to enter the DV.

The section of the law establishing the DV program limits the list of “eligible countries” to those countries from which fewer than 50,000 persons in various visa categories immigrated to the United States during the previous five years.  U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services (USCIS) modifies the list of eligible countries for each year’s DV program on the sole basis of this five-year calculation.

Countries whose natives are ineligible for DV-2021 are Bangladesh, Brazil, Canada, China (mainland-born), Colombia, the Dominican Republic, El Salvador, Guatemala, Haiti, India, Jamaica, Mexico, Nigeria, Pakistan, the Philippines, South Korea, the United Kingdom (excluding Northern Ireland) and its dependent territories, and Vietnam.  These countries are ineligible for the DV-2021 program because they exceeded the 50,000 threshold for immigrant admissions to the United States in the past five years.  (Note:  Hong Kong, Macau, and Taiwan remain eligible.)

Please consult the Department of State’s website  for complete information about participating in the current DV program.

Also consult our fraud warning for further information about Internet scams.